Lost password
 Remember my login 
 All forums
 Music production & Gear talk
 Advice For New Producers
 Printer friendly
Page: 
of 3

All users can post new topics in this forum. All users can reply to topics in this forum

Author Thread  
electrogen
Average Member

United Kingdom
206 posts
Posted - 2013/09/12 :  09:56:03  Show profile Send a private message
(Disclaimer) i am by no means an expert in the following post but these tips are just some stuff that i have struggled with for over ten years and am now just getting used to. These tips are meant as a guide for you to take as you will. i would suggest you read them a few times over many days if you dont understand them.

EQ;
You shouldnt need to eq at all during tracking. The only exception is filter eq. Everything except the bass elements (Kick, bass And sub elements need a cutoff of at least 100Hz. Hats and cymbals (Trebble Elements) i usually higs pass at 500HZ twice to make sure there are no bottoms. And the sub elements low pass at 100-250HZ to get rid of any lingering high frequencies. this may seem obvious but if you follow tis to the letter you will find your mixes have better clarity. Once tracking is finished and you move to mixing, then you can add creative eq. IE if something isnt fitting then do a sweep and see what is best. you will know when you hit the sweet spot as another instrument will pop out too.
Bass elements need cutting at 40-50Hz too as we rarely hear sub 50hz just adds too much headroom.
i used to peak my subs but not anymore. theres no need if you follow this. trust me.

Tracking;
I only just this week started tracking first. this is where you get the samples and lay them out to make the basic layout using filter eq as you go along.

Mixing;