My style of mixing
 Printer friendly
Page: 
of 3

Author Thread  
DjAtrix
Starting Member

1 post
Posted - 2001/06/05 :  15:17:23  Show profile  Send a private message  Reply with quote
whats going on all. this is my first time posting but I read through this topic and thought i might have something to say. for me djing is composing of mainly two things i practice, skratching and beat matching. these two are essential to my djing just because i spin HHC and hip-hop. i used to just always practice skratching because beat mixing was a pain and i wasnt any good, but after i started spinning HHC i had to do it. i just kept on practicing and now it is no hat. thats all it is practice. peace.

Alert moderator Go to top of page
kANDeKraver
Starting Member

3 posts
Posted - 2001/06/11 :  13:22:33  Show profile  Send a private message  Reply with quote
my lord.. i never had any idea there there was anyone who DIDNT beat match...
i dont wanna sound rude, but thats the first thing i was learing the weekend i og tmy decks...

Lusive
Average Member

Australia
151 posts
Posted - 2001/06/11 :  21:18:55  Show profile  Send a private message  Reply with quote
i hear ya kANDE!

first thing i ever did on my dex (bar playing around with moving the record back and forth) was try to beat match.

also dont mean to sound rude. but as far as i'm concerned.. mixing involves beatmatching more than anything else.

if you havent got the tracks matched how can you do cuts and stuff like that.

second most important to beatmatching is keeping stuff in sequence. (i think someone mentioned phrases b4)

if you got those two spot on.. even a pretty plain fade will still sound good.

and no one has mentioned the use of EQ during transition or even in general?

anyways.. my 2c

cheers~!

--------¡
Open your eyes, see all the love in me, I got enough for ever.
Dont be afraid, take all you need from me, and we'll be strong together...

silver
Admin

Japan
12,549 posts

894 hardcore releases