Email Us!
Username: Password:

Lost password
 Remember my login 

All forums
 Tracks, DJ mixes & release announcements
 New to Djing
 Printer friendly

All users can post new topics in this forum. All users can reply to topics in this forum

Author Thread  
Dj divad
Starting Member

Canada
12 posts
Posted - 2010/04/30 :  06:51:38  Show profile Send a private message
Heyy guys im new to DJing so im looking for some feed back ifyou guys could give me some that would be great and yes i know im not djing with tables yet im saving my pennies for my setup but yea if you could check out my mix that would be great

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8AQ1WpmZZEo

Alert moderator
DJ Specimen

United States
350 posts
Posted - 2010/04/30 :  19:54:16  Show profile  Send a private message  Visit DJ Specimen's homepage
Well it wasn't bad... certainly nothing I'm going to make all my friends listen to. I feel like hardcore music needs vocals or it just sounds like a kick drum and box of silverware. Also, I'm not really certain what you did... I haven't noticed any beat juggling it just sounds like you overlapped the end and beginning, which is an alright place to start but I wouldn't put that on youtube or the forums here.

http://djtutor.com/

Ellaskins has quite a bit of useful stuff on there, though a lot of it is about using your turntables and whatnot, which you don't have to worry about lol.

Also, hardcore should have a breakbeat every 4 to 6 minutes, as a rule of thumb, something trance-like, piano music or vocals, it draws attention off of the fact that this music is incredibly repetitive, so do vocals in the song. I mean, half the time when I'm mixing I'm just using a bass loop from the next song then pull it out of the loop to transition, which lets you know how repetitious this all is lol.